Sentosa, Singapore Night Safari, and more.

Hello all! Haven’t posted in a while, but I’m back now.

Since I last posted, I have done a ton of things, including going to Sentosa, visiting the Singapore Night Safari, and traveling to Malaysia (post coming next week). And somewhere in between all of that, school work.

Singapore itself is an island, but to the south of Singapore, is an even smaller island called Sentosa. Sentosa is mainly a place for entertainment, as it houses numerous beach clubs, two golf courses, and a Universal Studios (which I’m visiting next weekend). There are three different beaches on Sentosa, and Mckenna and I were able to visit all of them.

Tanjong Beach

Tanjong Beach

After beginning the day at Tanjong, we went to Palawan Beach, which is home to the southernmost point in continental Asia.

Bridge connecting to the southernmost point in continental Asia.

Bridge connecting to the southernmost point in continental Asia.

View from the southernmost point.

View from the southernmost point.

After getting a pretty solid sunburn, we decided to head home. It was cool to visit Sentosa though, because I had never been to a tropical beach.

The day after Sentosa, I went to go explore Little India with Wilko, an exchange student from Germany. Little India has quite a bit to see, so we spent a good portion of the day here. After grabbing some Indian food (which I’m a huge fan of now), we went to visit the temples in Little India. Most of the Hindu temples look the same, with some slight variations between them.

One of the Hindu temples we visited.

One of the Hindu temples we visited.

Inside of a Hindu temple.

Inside of a Hindu temple.

Right next to one of the Hindu temples, we found a massive Buddhist temple.

Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple.

Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple.

This was the only picture that I took, but the Buddha is 50 feet tall, and weighs 300 pounds. The temple was built in 1927, and was extremely impressive.

The next weekend, Mckenna and I went to the Singapore Night Safari. The Night Safari is the first of its kind in the world, and was so awesome to see. I was able to see animals that we don’t usually see at home, while seeing them active in the night. KL 138

The hyenas.

The hyenas.

Malayan tiger.

Malayan tiger.

KL 136

I didn’t get a picture of the Asian fishing cat, which is basically a tiger, but the size of a cat. We got to watch them try to catch fish, which was so cool to watch. If you ever find yourself in Singapore, I highly recommend the Night Safari. It’s a bit expensive, but it is definitely worth it.

I visited Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia this past weekend, and will be posting about that next week. But before I post that, I wanted to write about what I’ve been up to in Singapore the past two weeks. I really wish I could have been home last week to celebrate Spencer’s life with everyone that knew him, but I was praying for everyone here from Singapore. Rest in peace Spence.

Alex iPhone 1117

One thought on “Sentosa, Singapore Night Safari, and more.

  1. Hi Alex,
    I am so amazed at your descriptions of a place so far away; the food, the scenery, the sights and the people. Thanks for sharing. You are truly embracing life and it’s opportunities – this is one big world. At the heart is Parker, don’t forget that! Your mention of Spencer was thoughtful as the baseball pic – you are far away but you are definitely living like Spence!
    Keep living and writing and sharing! Can’t wait to hear Al about it in person!
    Mrs. Guise
    PS. Stone misses his ski buddy -,and great friend! I will just say that for him:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment